Romance in my WIP Tag

,

I come bearing WONDIFEROUS NEWS!!!

I FINISHED MY SECOND DRAFT OF MY STORY, HE WHO OWNS THE MOON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t tell you how exciting it is for me. I’ve been working on this project so long, and changed so much from my initial draft. That one was quite the rough draft, haha.

Anyway, I have been doing quite a few blog tags lately–they’re just too much fun! And, I think it would be a perfect way to celebrate another finished step in my writing process.

So, even though we’ve passed Valentine’s Day, I am doing the “Romance in my WIP” tag–which I halfway stole from Saraina Whitney :P–using my characters from He Who Owns the Moon.

(By the way, I’m just curious what everyone thinks of the title? I really like how it sounds, how it flows. But I am just curious how it sounds to someone who hasn’t read the story.)

To the tag!

The Rules

  1. Thank the person who tagged you (thanks for letting me steal this, Saraina! 😉 )
  2. Link back to the original tag (Can’t wait to do this tag, H.S. Kilian!)
  3. Answer the questions
  4. Tag as many people as you want!

The Tag

Question #1 / Favorite OTP – Or One of Your Favorites

Ah, yes, the easiest question… It’s a no-brainer… Heimerich and Celimine, of course! And their relationship, honestly, could be no less than a One True Pairing. Only God can make their marriage work. ❤

Question #2 / Second Favorite OTP

Hmm… This one is much harder, only because my MCs’ relationship is the only romance in the book (except for one scene of forgiveness and rekindling for a certain married couple… 🥰)

To answer this question, however, I am going to say Jürgen and Anna. Jürgen is a mysterious boy who appears to be around 12, and works in the stable and orchard of Mitternacht Hall. Anna is only 6, she’s Celi’s sister, but she has an innocent, childlike fancy for Jürgen, which he finds flattering. She defends him when her 4yo. brother Lars calls him weird, and Jürgen can’t help but blush. It’s cute.

Question #3 / How They Met

Do I go into the whole story, here? Heimerich and Celimine’s marriage was arranged by Celimine’s dad, Kunz, and Heimerich, and the reason for Heimerich agreeing to marry her is a mystery for much of the book. (Not telling here!)

Heimerich came to Celimine’s house the next morning to meet his bride, and they were married a couple weeks later.

Question #4 / Who Said ‘I Love You’ First?

In words, it was Heimerich. In deed… Celimine? Heimerich? Celimine made decisions that she thought were best for their relationship, and Heimerich started showing love for her long before either realized it.

Question #5 / Favorite Date Spot

A walk in the orchard under the moonlight! They love to eat apples, look out over the rocks at the mountains, sit on the bench and stare at the moon, and Heimerich, besides singing, even climbs trees now and again. (Not something you might expect from a 45yo. man. 😜)

Question #6 / The Blanket Hogger

Celimine. It has to be Celimine. She snuggles her rabbit ragdoll Bunny all the time, so blankets would probably be the next best thing. (Although they could never replace that precious ragtag stuffed animal.)

Question #7 / The Bookworm

Also Celimine. She loves her fairytales, and legends, and myths. Although, if said library was a music library, or biographies about singers and musicians… Then it’s Heimerich. They are each a bookworm regarding different subjects.

Question #8 / Polar Opposite Opinion On…(Topic of Your Choice)

Polar opposites? Ack, this is hard… In all honesty, probably their opinions on family and forgiveness. They both had rough childhoods, but with everything Heimerich went through, he took it harder. He has a really hard time letting go.

Question #9 / Most Likely To Be Organized

Heimerich, most definitely. He was raised a gentleman, had a career as an opera singer, and doesn’t particularly like disorder. He needs everything to be where he can keep an eye on it.

Celimine, well… She was raised poor and didn’t have much to organize, so if you gave her things to be organized, she’d likely get overwhelmed. She handles little kids pretty well, though, and they are the least organized beings on the planet, so who knows.

Question #10 / Most Likely To Burst Into Song

HEIMERICH!!! Of course!!! He’s been singing since he could make a tune, and he was in the opera for 10 years… Is that enough evidence?

Question #11 / The Social One & The Not-So-Social One

Okay, um… Oof. Both are socially awkward, to a degree.

Heimerich was famous for a number of years, and goes out on business now and again, but circumstances led him to reclusion.

Celimine doesn’t know any big, important people like Heimerich might, but she’s spent plenty of time in her Papa’s frequented gambling house around his buddies.

As a result, I couldn’t really say who’s social and who’s not. Heimerich knows how to better act around the public, but Celimine is the more friendly one.

Question #12: First Kiss: When & Where

Technically their first kiss was their wedding kiss, but I’m assuming we’re talking about the first “in love” kiss. Heimerich kissed Celimine out of love for the first time on their way home from somewhere, in their sleigh, underneath the moonlight. I’m not giving all the details, as I don’t want to spoil it! It’s a beautiful moment, though, that I love to both write and read. 🥰


clean copy of the questions

Question #1 / Favorite OTP – Or One of Your Favorites

Question #2 / Second Favorite OTP

Question #3 / How They Met

Question #4 / Who Said ‘I Love You’ First?

Question #5 / Favorite Date Spot

Question #6 / The Blanket Hogger

Question #7 / The Bookworm

Question #8 / Polar Opposite Opinion On…(Topic of Your Choice)

Question #9 / Most Likely To Be Organized

Question #10 / Most Likely To Burst Into Song

Question #11 / The Social One & The Not-So-Social One

Question #12/ First Kiss: When & Where

For who I’m gonna tag: I tag whoever wants to attempt it! It’s so fun.

Thank you for joining me for this lovely tag, and thanks for celebrating with me about finishing my second draft!… ON TO THE THIRD!!!

6 responses to “Romance in my WIP Tag”

  1. Saraina Whitney Avatar
    Saraina Whitney

    CONGRATULATIONS ON FINISHING THE SECOND DRAFT!!!! *showers you with chocolate* I absolutely love the title “He Who Owns the Moon” – it’s so poetic and so fun to say aloud!! 😍 And yay, you did the tag!! This story sounds so lovely and I want it now 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Riley G. Avatar
      Riley G.

      THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!!! *grabs chocolate and shoves it into mouth* Oh, yay! I’m glad you like the title–I ADORE poetic titles… So yeah, that love certainly influenced it. 😉

      Like

  2. H.S. Kylian Avatar
    H.S. Kylian

    Aw, this is adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Riley G. Avatar
      Riley G.

      Thanks! It was so fun to do, thanks for creating the tag!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. H.S. Kylian Avatar
        H.S. Kylian

        You’re welcome! 🙂

        Like

  3. Kate (Willis) Hoppman Avatar
    Kate (Willis) Hoppman

    This is so fun! I may have to do it for my sci-fi novel, though there’s not a ton of romance in it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started